Yes nearly as much as Cows milk
Goat’s milk is a nutritious food that humans have consumed for thousands of years. However, about 75% of the world’s population suffers from lactose intolerance. So many people wonder if goat milk contains lactose and if it can be used as a substitute for cow’s milk and other milks. The answer is a resounding Yes.
1. Lactose intolerance
Lactose is the main carb in all mammalian milks, including human, cow, goat, sheep and buffalo. These milks contain a disaccharide sugar made up of glucose and galactose. The human body needs an enzyme called lactase to be able to digest disaccharides.
However, in most cases, the human body stops producing this enzyme after weaning occurs during the 2 year period of age. Therefore, lactose intolerance can cause symptoms such as bloating, gas, diarrhoea, and abdominal pain when users consume milk.
People with lactose intolerance can manage symptoms by limiting the amount of lactose-containing foods they eat or following a lactose-free diet. At the same time, users can also take a lactose supplement before consuming dairy products.
2. Goats milk contains a lot of Lactose
As mentioned above, lactose is the main carb in mammalian milk and as such, goat milk also contains lactose. However, this content is lower than that of cow’s milk. Goat milk consists of about 4.20% lactose, while cow’s milk contains almost 5%. Although it still contains a certain amount of lactose, evidence suggests that people with mild lactose intolerance can use goat’s milk.
Although there is no scientific study to support this, scientists believe there is another reason some people tolerate goat milk better. That’s because the fat molecules in goat’s milk are smaller than those in cow’s milk, which makes goat’s milk easier to digest by people with weak digestive systems, like lactose intolerance.
However, for people with casein allergies, goat’s milk may not be the best alternative to cow’s milk, as research has shown that a large number of people with cow’s milk casein allergies also often react. with goat’s milk.
This is because cows and goats both belong to the ruminant family, which has a similar protein structure.
3. Lactose intolerant people should drink goat milk? NOPE
People with severe lactose intolerance should avoid goat milk, as it still contains lactose.
Even people with mild symptoms may be tempted with small amounts of goat’s milk and by-products such as yogurt and cheese, as these products contain lactose so do a tiny test… stay safe and frankly I can’t go near it.
Researchers believe that most people with lactose intolerance are still able to consume one cup (8 ounces or 250 mL) of milk per day – but I’m very sceptical… why risk ruining a day or two?
Reference article: Healthline.com